An Overview of the Cognitive Performance Test


The Cognitive Performance Test (CPT) “is a standardized cognitive-functional measure that identifies patterns of performance associated with long term memory stores” (Burns, 2018).  It is used to “explain and predict capacity to function in various contexts and guide intervention plans” (Burns, 2018).

Quck Facts

Age Range: Adult/Geriatric

Test Type: Standardized & performance-based

Administration Time: 45 minutes

Publication Year: Manual revision 2018

Author: Developed by author and researcher Theresa Burns, OTR

Administration Time: Individual

Scoring: Range from intact performance (level 6 or 5) to profound disability (level 2)


Each subtest repeatedly measures working memory and executive functions at progressively more complex levels. The specific task is less important than the way in which the client responds to gradually increasing task demands and task complexity. The seven subtests are:

Cognitive Performance Test
Cognitive Performance Test
Cognitive Performance Test
Cognitive Performance Test
  • Medbox
  • Phone
  • Travel
  • Shop
  • Wash
  • Toast
  • Dress


Each subtask is rated with a performance level score (e.g. 6.0;5.0; 4.5 etc.). Subtest scores are then averaged, providing a total score.  Scores are based on average performance over time.

Profiles & Performance Patterns

The CPT profiles identify corresponding issues of IADL concern.  A half-level profile system is used  (5.6;5.0;4.5;4.0;3.5;3.0;2.5;1)

Burns, Thereasa (2018). Cognitive Performance Test (CPT) Revised Manual 2018 Maddak.